The “insensitive” Priest

Roman collar. Tough guy.

I am not sure I like the “cut” given to this video I have seen on Father z’s blog. Too much choreographic if you ask me, too “shouted”, with the camera techniques of cheap entertainment TV copied as if they were something genial rather than, say, now trite and vulgar. Though I must say I liked the musical part, also predictable in a way but, I think, rather more effective.

What is most effective is, I think, the message. Short and cut in short phrases but very, very much to the point.

The part I liked most is the end. I like to see a priest not afraid to say those who go against Christian (and democratic) decency should be punished at the ballot. In my eyes, the debate is going to come to the US Church anyway, so it is better to fight it aggressively now and make clear the Church will always tell their sheep what is Christian behaviour and what isn’t, no matter how many will call this “political interference”.

Last, the hand at the end. In Italy, it would be read as a simple “Two”. In England it would, I think, be read differently (the archers at Agincourt, and all that I believe). But again, always in England Winnie Churchill gave the “fingers” a lighter meaning, so much his gesture is showed everywhere.

If the meaning of the hand in that position is the “Winnie” one, I think it should have been avoided, as such gestures never become a priest anyway.

For the rest, methinks you may do worse than to spread the link around.

Mundabor

Posted on March 9, 2012, in Catholicism, Good Shepherds and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Eh, the presentation is US vernacular for ads, for political ads….: keep it short, keep it simple, dramatize.and emphasize
    Which looks as easy a recipe as how to move a grand piano: take of the legs, carry it to where you want, replace legs.
    All things to all men so that SOME may be saved for Christ.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,043 other followers

