“For Greater Glory”: A Reader’s “Review”

Not helping: Charlize Theron in “Snow White”.
Give me the Disney movie anyway…

 

I just read this and cannot avoid dedicating a blog post to it (if you thought I would let the Sunday go without drumming up the movie you were seriously wrong anyway… ;0 )

@FrancisFaustina (you do no harm in following her on Twitter, methinks…) writes as follows:

I JUST GOT BACK from Seeing this film!!! IT IS WONDERFUL!!! I Highly recommend EVERY CATHOLIC and even EVERY CHRISTIAN go see it especially (not that Jews or Atheists should NOT go….EVERYONE should see this!) but especially Christians as we here in the US are getting ready to do battle with the Obama Administration and actually already are!

There are so many lines in the movie that the THEN President of Mexico said that you’d think it was Obama Himself talking! A REAL Eye opener for many as you see the slow progression of loosing your Religious Freedoms.

My friend and I (she’s a Secular Carmelite!) just HAPPENED to choose the same theatre on the same night at the same time as the Bishop was having JOIN THE BISHOP AT THE THEATRE night! That meant there was a ton of Catholics there and people could NOT hold back and would yell “RIGHT ON!” when things happened and at the end they began the Chant “Viva Cristo Rey!”

GO ASAP to see this!

Impressive, uh?

On another note, scouring the internet yesterday I have discovered the movie is having a huge success in Mexico, where it was Number one at the box office against a couple of big Hollywood productions debuting on the same weekend.

There are still no figures for “For Greater Glory”, says here at 15:45 London time on Sunday. It seems clear, though, that Charlize Theron is cleaning up (albeit from a huge 3,700 screen against around one fifth for our heroes), which certainly will not help.

In the absence of numbers, and notwithstanding the very good Mexican results (almost four million dollar made until now; a big success for Mexico, but still a long way to go for an ambitious production which cost $20 m) this might still end up a flop in the US, which would have repercussions on the freedoms of Catholics in the United States and deprive us European of the possibility of seeing the film on the big screen.

Please please follow our good reader in her enthusiasm and support the cause of Catholicism and religious freedom!

Viva Cristo Rey!

Mundabor

Posted on June 3, 2012, in Catholicism and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Mund, I got good news about For Greater Glory in the USA. It opened in the top ten this weekend! Now lets pray that it will climb to the top of the list! Viva Cristo Rey!

    • Thanks Stephen, I have been following the forecasts these two days, and if they are confirmed it will be rather disappointing with USD 1.8m in the first weekend. For a movie which cost USD20m this is certainly a disappointment as I think it points out to probably USD 5-7m total gross in the US, which means USD 2.8/3.8 for the producers. Unless this movie kills it in Latin America and Europe I doubt we will see many other similar productions.
      I will wait to express my disappointment to when there are official numbers, though.

      M

  2. I saw ‘Glory’ yesterday afternoon. I did say “Viva Cristo Rey” throughout the movie, but not at the top of my voice. I was too busy crying. FGG simply overwhelmed me. Viva Cristo Rey!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,899 other followers

