Spot The Error

Lately heard at a Catholic Novus Ordo Mass.

I confess to almighty God

and to you, my brothers and sisters,

that I have greatly sinned,

in my thoughts and in my words,

in what I have done and in what I have failed to do;

therefore I ask blessed Mary Ever-Virgin,

all the Angels and Saints,

and you, my brothers and sisters,

to pray for me to the Lord our God.

And no, I am not kidding.

Mundabor

Posted on February 24, 2013, in Bad Shepherds, Catholicism and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 14 Comments.

  1. Mmm? It’s the Pauline form of the Confiteor. It’s recited regularly at Mass (although other forms of what the Pauline rubrics call the ‘Penitential Rite’ do exist), at least in my parish. Today, for instance. Am I missing something really obvious? ..

  2. (2x) By my fault. By my most grievous fault.?

    • Exactly!

      “through my fault, through my fault,
      through my most grievous fault”;

      This was left conveniently aside, striking of breast included.

      We don’t do “fault” anymore, don’t ya know.. (chewing gum…).

      M

  3. Mea culpa, mea culpa, mea maxima culpa.

  4. Another obvious truncation is the “For Yours is the kingdom, the power and the glory forever and ever.” In the Tridentine Mass, this didn’t exist at all. It was, however, very prevalent in the Eastern Churches, both Catholic and Orthodox.

    So, what is the problem? In the Eastern versions, it’s a doxology, “For Yours is the kingdom, the power and the glory of the Father, and the Son and the Holy Spirit, forever and ever.” Reference to the Trinity is removed in the Latin version. One less expression of a belief in the Trinity.

    I’m not sure it’s accidental.

    • Ah, but the truncation I have posted about is not in the Novus Ordo text; it is an “innovation” of that particular priest, who evidently decided striking of breasts and admissions of guilt are past their sell-by date…

      M

  5. Interestingly (or not) in Poland we have, not “most grievous fault” but “very great guilt”.

    • Interesting, Leftfooter. Do you think there are cultural reasons or is it just the translator’s choice? If you ask me, the vernacular translation should always be as near as sensible to the original Latin.

      M

  6. ‘Tis ilicit, I am sure, with that omission. On the other hand, I am super-annoyed when they use “Lord Jesus, you are the Son of God and the Son of Mary.” “Lord, have mercy.” That illicit Confiteor does at least contain the word ‘sin.’

  7. Dear me, I”m very rusty – omitting the Mea Culpa indeed…

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,901 other followers

