A Blogger’s Dilemma

People of all sorts write comments on this blog. I do not, nor will I ever, Duck Duck Go around to see what else they write on the Internet with the same nickname.

Some of them may, then, have a knack for questionable content. Do they go around spreading, say, Antisemitism, Sedevacantism, or whatever other stupid “ism”? How does this affect me?

If someone writes reasonable – perhaps not approved, but still sane – comments on this blog and then proceeds to get into a synagogue with an Uzi and make a massacre, am I to blame? I would say, he is to blame. I can’t check the mental sanity of those who at least do not appear mad. If they seem unstable or professional pains in the neck already in my combox I will not publish their comment in the first place.

And then there is another matter.

When one converts to Catholicism, who knows how much anti-Catholic rubbish might be around, written by him whilst still very confused? Shall I make this kind of enquiry? Would I want to? If I do it for Titius, why not for Caius?

Then there is more.

Let’s say one is still a Sedevacantist, but he feels attracted to my blog. He writes comments that cannot be questioned in that respect. He gets to know the blog, and Catholicism with it. Slowly, he gets to see the light. I have, I am pleased to say, converted a couple already. It may work. Or not, as the case may be. But should I leave anyone out?

I will reflect on this in the coming weeks. For the moment, the policy is that I will not put my nose in whatever else you say around, if what you write in my blog is at least reasonable. If you give me reason to think you a nutcase I will can you (or ban you) without hesitation and without further enquiries. You are welcome to comment here even if you are in the midst of some strange process of growth, because I would want to be a part of Providence’s work to lead you to the fold. But in no way I will tolerate comments that will confuse the other readers, or engender the impression that this here is a place that the wrong people can use as a megaphone for wrong ideas.

This blog exists to strengthen Catholics in the faith, and convert non-Catholics to it. I will not enquire even as to where you are now. But what you write here had better have solidly Catholic hands and feet, or you are better off lurking.

I think this strikes a good compromise. This blog also exists to bring people in, and I think this includes some leeway to take account of the confusion of our times.

Still: if you discover yourself still influenced by your thinking, by superstitions, by strange beliefs, by everything that is not Catholic tradition: let it go. A reader of this blog must face the simple fact that Catholicism has all the truth, and all the answers.

Purify yourself of the toxins of your old life. Embrace life in truth.

M

 

Posted on March 5, 2015, in Catholicism, Conservative Catholicism, Traditional Catholicism. Bookmark the permalink. 10 Comments.

  1. I think you are wise to stick to the content that is presented to you, or even read around, but keep in mind that people who have blown a few whistles tend to develop an increasingly varied ‘pitchfork army’ of defenders of the faith, composed of closet leftists manipulators, and just the innocently misinformed…be careful not to join them.

    • The concern is rather the accusation of being a blog that hosts nutcases. But no nutcase is always a nutcase, and it is probably wise to stick, as you say, to the content.
      M

  2. Mundabor,

    I think you are very careful in what you allow in the comments here. If there are enemies out there who are researching what your commenters say elsewhere…….then what does that have to do with you?(as you state).

    I increasingly see your name bandied about in a snide way on other blogs by modernist and leftist commenters, and I am always sure to let them know what a big fan I am of the great Mundabor. Drives them nuts. :). It is because you staunchly and candidly hold to the truth that activates your enemies.

    • I think there might warnings, in perfect good faith, that the leftists nuts could say “Look! Mundabor allows people who comment who also think this and that!”
      I am glad you keep the flag high!
      I am seeing increased critical comments (should I sue them all? 😉 )
      It means this little effort is going places… 😉
      M

  3. Mundabor,
    “This blog exists to strengthen Catholics in the faith, and convert non-Catholics to it. I will not enquire even as to where you are now. But what you write here had better have solidly Catholic hands and feet, or you are better off lurking.”
    Seems a very sound policy to me, at least. I have been reading this blog almost since you started writing it. Back then, I was still less than solid in my Catholicism, so I lurked, read, learned, for hours and hours, over a period of many months, both here and elsewhere, until I felt comfortable enough to speak up myself.
    For commenters new to proper Catholicism, and still shaky in the foundations of the Faith, there is absolutely no shame in remaining silent. In fact, the most important precondition for learning anything whatsoever is simply listening to those who know and following their instructions. All progress in understanding requires submission to Truth and to whoever teaches it.

    “But should I leave anyone out?”
    No. This should remain an exemplary blog of the inclusive-welcoming type, just as it has always been… 🙂
    But seriously, everyone can be converted, no matter where he has been before, if he is willing to give Truth a fair hearing. Reading a Catholic blog not exactly known for sugar-coating, and remaining calm enough to write sane comments, is an indication of possible openness to the Truth, whatever other defects the writer may exhibit (or have exhibited in the past) elsewhere.

    • “Back then, I was still less than solid in my Catholicism, so I lurked, read, learned, for hours and hours, over a period of many months, both here and elsewhere, until I felt comfortable enough to speak up myself”.

      You made my day, Catocon.

      M

  4. “If someone writes reasonable – perhaps not approved, but still sane – comments on this blog and then proceeds to get into a synagogue with an Uzi and make a massacre, am I to blame? I would say, he is to blame.”

    No, no, no. The Uzi is to blame. Guns kill people!

  5. My mother was a bit of a firebrand. I hope you won’t mind that I compare your writing to hers. I veered off into psychology studies in my early round of university, and still have a bit of a tendency to be a little too ‘understanding’. My mother has been dead for many years (may she RIP), but when I read many of your posts, I think I can hear Mom saying, ‘I TOLD you so’! It makes me smile.

