The Orthodox Doggy

And it came to pass Yours Truly was at Mass, and happened to be seated near a couple with a beautiful Cocker Spaniel.

The dog was extremely well, and I mean by that extremely well trained. Almost motionless, and absolutely quiet, he seemed to show a reverence for the Mass that you would look in vain in many of your gray-haired, tambourine-loving Mass attending humans.

Similarly, you noticed one obvious fact: the owner of the dog had taken responsibility for the behaviour of the one entrusted to their care, and it was very clear they had allowed to dog to Mass only when sure the dog knows how to behave. Let me stop here.

Long live the orthodox doggie. Congratulations to his owners. We live in times in which dogs surpass humans in reverence.


Posted on April 29, 2015, in Catholicism, Conservative Catholicism, Traditional Catholicism and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 9 Comments.

  1. Beware of dogs
    Philippians 3:2

  2. Assuming the dog is a guide dog? Or assists the couple in some way? If not, then I have a huge issue with an animal in Church. As much as we like our furry friends, this is the Holy of Holies. We don’t let them in restaurants, many work places, movie theaters and countless businesses for a reason. We are fighting against the banal, indifferent, minimization of the holy in our time, bringing an animal into Church doesn’t help that fight. God bless~

  3. Dogs ought not to be brought into a church.

  4. Well, when I was about seven years old, I recall vividly the day of my First Holy Communion.
    We had a dog then, a white mutt, and we thought he was safely locked at home, but lo and behold, I happened to look towards the back of the Church (I was seated at the very front with a group of girl communicants, all beautifully dressed in white as became the occasion) and there was my dog, strolling with determination toward me! He then proceeded to sit by me, quietly, while the Mass was going on. The priest, perhaps unaware of these proceedings, did not say anything. Or perhaps he decided it was best to ignore the incident. I was too young to understand this breach of protocol and was happy to have my dog next to me. This was in 1947.

    God bless.

  5. Nothing wrong with pets in the nave, as long as they are quiet and refrain from participating in the liturgy (same applies to well-behaved Protestants). Personally, I find serviettes, lectresses/lay lectors and extraordinary ministresses/laymen of the Eucharist far more objectionable than a well-behaved pooch in the pews.

    I’m all for a more inclusive church:

    • I wonder what was the praxis before V II? I mean of course dogs would generally not be allowed, but is it because a dog was seen as unfit in a church per se or because in those time professionally trained dogs were very much a rarity? Blinds’ dogs were certainly allowed.


  6. It occurred to me that Our Lord was born in a stable surrounded by a couple of animals.
    St. Joseph and Our Lady don’t seem to have objected to their presence. But I think a pooch in Church (unless it be a guiding-eye dog) would be distracting to the worshippers, both adults and more so children, so it may be more for our sake that they are not allowed in church than for the animal’s sake, even when it behaves well.

    God bless!

    • Yes, but it wasn’t a church, nor do we allow oxen therein.
      As to the distraction, I would say the dog distracts if he is a distraction (makes noises), otherwise he becomes perfectly invisible in my experience. Again, the Oratorians allow dogs, and I have seen perfectly behaved dogs elsewhere.
      Perhaps someone will chime in with some information?

  7. “Catholic funeral for a dog in Belgium”

