May And Mary

It is a grey morning as I write this. Too cold for the season, and without the usual promise of warm you would expect. But it is the first day of May.

No, I am not talking of Labour Day here. I am talking of the beginning of the month of Mary.

I cannot tell you with words how the habit of directing my prayers and humble attention – such as it is true attention, which is not always the case – to the Blessed Virgin is helping my spiritual and, actually, my everyday life. It is as if the words “our mother in heaven” would take a different meaning every year.

The daily Rosary is, I think, the main factor in all this. I have written often enough about the importance of the daily Rosary so I will not expand on this. May, as the month of Mary, is an ideal opportunity for a serious proposal to start praying the Rosary daily, for those of you who still don't do it. It's the best investment you can make not only for the future of your soul, but for the present of your daily life.

It's the month of Mary again. Which means we are one month of Mary closer to death. Let us not waste these little occasions, and let us take inspiration from these little events in our life.

Make this day the day you resolved to start the recitation of the daily Rosary, and stick to it.

You will never regret it.


Posted on May 1, 2015, in Traditional Catholicism. Bookmark the permalink. 15 Comments.

  1. The personal Consecration to the Immaculate Heart of Mary via St. Louis de Montfort is also a beautiful way to show devotion to Our Lady. Our parish has a ceremony a couple times a year. Always a large group either renewing or making their first “vows”…

    • That is a rather large step, I understand?

    • Not really…you just have to read at home De Montforts “Total Consecration to Mary”, a 33 day preparation and follow its weekly readings and meditations. Then write out in long-hand the Consecration prayer which you read in the presence of the presiding priest (at the Communion rail) and he signs your personal Consecration. After that, its up to you to live what you’ve promised Her.

      Here’s the link to one of the many sites about the Consecration:

    • You are right, there is nothing more “extreme” there than the wearing of the Brown Scapular (most already wear the medal and recite the rosary every day, I am sure).


  2. Amen! I, too, have reaped the benefits of praying the Rosary often (I’m at 4-5 days a week…still working on the discipline to get to every day).

  3. Very good post!. You are often at your best when you give spiritual advice

  4. God Bless you Mundabor and may Our Blessed Mother always watch over, sustain and protect you.

  5. Thanks for this Mundabor.I reminded a English colleague -she migrate here to Australia 2 years ago- yesterday (1st May) that it was called Lady Day before the Reformation in England. I also gave out St George’s Day cards to English ( we call them pommies here) colleagues and friends.
    I have begun to do this.

  6. Thank you Mundabor. I was feeling very under the weather yesterday and was just deciding I would go straight to bed without praying my rosary yesterday. At that moment I read your blog and promptly picked up my rosary.

  7. Sweet post from a sweet man.
    Pray my rosary every day–usually on my way to work.

    Seattle kim

    • Thanks, Kimze. “Sweet” is not a compliment I receive very often, at least on this columns…


    • I take the time to pray in my car without the distraction of my phone or coworkers, or daily life-often taking a drive just to do so.

      Yesterday, my younger son’s oldest daughter was with her parents, making last-minute preparations for her First Communion, so I was able to help her 2- and 4-year -old sisters line up for the May Crowning at our church and present their flowers to the Virgin at the start of Mass. I was distracted while watching them through Mass, but I know Our Lady was pleased with their sweet offerings!

  8. Aye, every day; and as often as possible in the presence of the Blessed Sacrament.
    Our Lady has been so good to me, the least I could do is lay roses at her feet each day, in gratitude and adoration.
    Was lovely to have a procession in Our Lady’s honour yesterday, a long line of people singing hymns to her praise and praying the Rosary as we wound our way through the local streets. Marvellous.

