You Do Not Need This Blog

The Rock of Gibraltar

The Rock of Gibraltar

It is, undoubtedly, a compliment when someone writes to you in a comment (as happened today) 

“Hope you realize how much you are doing for those of us occasionally tempted, gravely so, to despair”

I thank (again) for the kind words. However, the words are scary; and they are scary in such a way that I feel the need of writing a couple of lines.

Firstly, I hope “despair” is meant here (as in other readers) in the generic sense of “not knowing where to turn or what to do”, rather than in the religious sense of “voluntary  and complete abandonment of all hope of saving one’s soul and of having the means required for that end”. The first is rather human, if very weak, in the present circumstances; but the second is a very grave sin whose thought should never be entertained by my esteemed readers. 

Let us, them, assume that the reader wanted to say (as I think she wanted to say): “Hope you realize how much you are doing for those of us occasionally tempted to think that we are being left alone by pretty much everyone in this fake Catholic wasteland”. 

Whilst I am pleased, I do think that every reader should make a conscious effort of strengthening of his own spiritual defences.

I would not want for the readers to see this blog as a log they turn to when they think they are drowning. Rather, I wish for my readers to see this blog as a place where they go to get additional strength; to carry it with them the following day and feel a bit, just a bit, more reassured in the Catholic Truth. And the following day, a bit more so. And the following one, another bit. At some point, this reassurance will become a very solid rock. 

If I were to be kicked down by a bus, I love to think that I would leave behind a blog read by people who – in part, and through my unworthy effort – have been made stronger by it; strong enough, in fact, that in case of my sudden departure from these blogging pastures they would be perhaps saddened at the loss of a keyboard friend; but would not feel lost in the world, and would not look around in desperation at valid sources of Catholic teaching.

My dear readers, please use this blog to train yourself for a life without this blog. You may find this blog useful, but you do not need this blog. You need prayer and penance, and a heartfelt request to Our Lord to help you and give all necessary strength and faith in whatever difficulty life (and the Gaystapo) should throw at us. If it does not work I know the solution: more prayer, and more penance. If it does not work… you get the drift. 

Every day you should think that this is the last day you read a new post on this blog. Is your faith strong? If your faith is strong you will tap in the immense wisdom of two thousand years of perfectly sound Catholic literature as you look around for other favourite blogs and magazines (which, by God’s grace, are out there in abundance, and far better than mine to boot). If your faith is weak you aren’t doing it right.

I am not your fix for your hour of weakness. I am the protein for a lifetime of strength. After reading this blog before going to sleep you must switch off your computer feeling like a lion, not a reassured lamb. 

We have already won. We.Have.Already.Won. Those idiots at the Supreme Court and elsewhere are but reckless idiots thinking they can mock God. God will not be mocked. They will be punished.

You do not need this blog. Prayer and penance, and a heartfelt request for the Lord’s help in giving us the grace necessary to live through this astonishing bad time. God does not deny the necessary graces that are asked for devoutly, insistently, in prayer. This is what you, and I, all need.    


Posted on June 27, 2015, in Catholicism, Conservative Catholicism, Traditional Catholicism. Bookmark the permalink. 11 Comments.

  1. Thank you, Mr. Mundabor, for your consideration of my earlier comment and for the charitable rebuke, which I indeed take to heart. Jane

  2. sixlittlerabbits

    Mundabor, thank you for this post and the one on the New Age John the Baptist,who would never have been insensitive enough to say something that would cause him to lose his head. Will say 5 decades for your intentions in the midst of this great spiritual battle.

  3. Thank you, I needed this today. I had awaken from a restless night, and my first text was to one of my best priest friends, “I pray for the grace to welcome martyrdom as my only remaining hope.” If that even makes sense.

    • Well, that presupposes that martyrdom will come your way in this generation. Which is possible, but not probable.
      As to those born in the last years, I’d say the horizon appears bleak.

  4. “We.Have.Already.Won” Needed that reminder Mundy:+) God bless you for being our favorite spiritual protein bar:+)

  5. We also need real Catholic communities, real priests, real fellow Faithful Catholics in the real world, that will help us keep the Faith and God’s Laws, and fight evil in every area of life, public and private, particularly where that means persecution. Online anonymous discussions can be very helpful but we need to be able to go to each other in real life. We need to be supportive Catholic communities in the real world, and stand up for the truth and against injustice and tyranny under our own names. We can only witness for truth and aid the persecuted as ourselves, in our bodily existence. Blessed Michael, the Archangel, defend us in battle . . .

  6. Her Immaculate Heart will triumph.

