The Bishops, The Deacon And The Priest


And it came to pass that a priest – and very successful blogger – was transferred from his thriving parish to another, actually in the same diocese but still – if seen in regards to London – in a galaxy far, far away. One notices – yours truly certainly noticed – that the posts of said blogger have become noticeably thinner since then, or thereabouts; and a number of these posts have to do with the natural beauties of his new parish or other themes unrelated with the Great Battle the man certainly bravely fights every day in his, no doubt, sterling work as a priest.


One also seems to remember that another Bishop, with a name like an asparagus soup, had very openly silenced another blogger, who happened to be a deacon of his, with the very revealing accusation of being “divisive” (what the Bishop with the name like an asparagus soup would have done to Christ I do not even dare to think; but hey, this is V II…).

Yours truly had started to make 2+2 a while ago, wondering whether the blogger priest had not been, more or less openly, but certainly effectively, ordered to decrease his blogging but without shutting it down altogether, because his bishop is a bit smarter than to do like Asparagus Soup did.

I do not think it is so unthinkable that a bishop should order one of his priests to greatly reduce his blogging activity, but without making him shut down the blog altogether, which would give him (the bishop) a bad press worldwide. The more so, as said priest had published a beautiful blog post, which I still remember, pointing out to all that is wrong in the decision to shut down the blog of the deacon. One imagines a bishop (or his office) calling another bishop (or his office), and you imagine the rest.

I also think that, if it were so, the priest might well comply out of obedience to his bishop; and that he might well, if asked, feel obliged not to reveal the real causes of his decreased blogging activity; be it because he finds it indelicate or disloyal, or because he has simply been ordered to do so.

You see, one cannot avoid thinking. The former priest of Blackfen was – is – very popular, and in the Church of Bankruptcy everyone who stands out for the wrong reasons – say: being an engaged Catholic priest – is automatically suspected. He will, also, be a thorn in the side of a number of people, of the divorced and remarried, or contracepting kind. These people will complain to the bishop and play the old broken record: divisive, uncharitable, & Co. The bishop without a spine will, at this point, do what all bishops without a spine do: kow-tow to the noisy “c”atholics, silence the blog as well as he can with minimum risk of scandal and inconvenience for himself, quietly remove the “divisive” priest, and hope for the best. Away from the keyboard, away from the hearts. Away from the successful thriving parish he built, away from the loss of face this causes for the Bishop himself. In the land of incompetent bishops successful priests must be seen as subversive. They truly are a danger for the Official Uniform Decline, who makes no bishop stand out as particularly bad because they pretty much all are.

Please visit the blog (you know the name). A handful of blog posts in March. One in April. Nothing in May. One in June. Nothing since. Actually, only one posts in more than three months; the decrease in posts has been very noticeable since last year, but it has become extreme in this one. It’s like a hibernation in instalments. But no, the blog will not shut down. No uproar this time, thank you very much.

I have thought for a while (many months now) of writing this blog post. But today I read about the very prompt way in which the bishop sanctioned the abolition of the Tridentine Mass in the parish in question, and I make not only 2+2 = 4, but 4:2 = 2, too.

It seems to me that something very foul is at work here, and the bishop may well be de facto silencing his blogger priest and ordering him to keep schtum, under obedience, about his being de facto silenced. And I might be wrong here, but I reflect on this: this is a bishop who sends away an extremely beloved and successful priest and sends in his place an homosexual who immediately proceeds to reintroduce the sale of the “Tablet” and shortly thereafter announces the end of the TLM.

Call it stupidity, call it incompetence, call it outright evil spirit. But however you call it, you know by such a man this is perfectly in the realm of the feasible.

So no, I think it far more probable that I am not wrong here. And yes, I might receive assurances that all is fine.

And no, I would still not be persuaded.


Posted on July 21, 2015, in Catholicism, Conservative Catholicism, Traditional Catholicism and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. Mr. Mundabor, thank you for this post on this very difficult and dark state of affairs. On a far less grave but certainly interesting and perhaps related point, I would suggest that “inter-hierarchical” influence goes the other way as well. A certain American priest and facebook “public figure” – whose popular writings on Catholicism have been considered by many to be mainstream – has made a rather strange virage in recent days, penning extensive praise prose – including a short-film! – on the current quirk- ridden papal encyclical. Difficult to understand til today. See this morning re: announcement of new bishop-elect of LA. Bishop-elect said to “enormously surprised.”

  2. QED. You summarise my thoughts exactly.
    However, the greatest thing the ecclesiastical authorities fear is the internet: filth, perversion, epsicopal failure and wrongheadedness can easily be highlighted for everyone to see and they are shitting themselves.
    Bloggers must continue to blog: for many readers living in the Catholic outback (Scotland), they are the ONLY source of information.

  3. Hello Mundabor
    I finally ‘lost it’ and yelled ‘QUIET, PLEASE’ at my local NO mass on Wednesday, as the crazed nun who runs the parish loudly discussed holidays with her chum who runs the shop selling sentimental tosh objects. The two women objected to my reasonable request for quiet as mass was about to begin, so I suggested that they go outside if they wanted to blether. The nun responded “we are too old”, and, as I am around the same age as her, I retorted that they were not too old to keep their mouths shut.

    I attended this mass because it is said devoutly by an 82 year old priest who serves as chaplain at both a hospital and a hospice, but when he began saying mass, the offended nun immediately marched up on to the altar. walked around re-arranging books and objects, and then angrily corrected his responses to the psalm she read. Asserting for us all that she ‘owns’ and runs the parish, and as neither the priest nor the male server made any objection to her behaviour, I will not be going back.

    I only attended this mass on the two days that the chaplain said mass as I am disgusted by the lazy parish priest who spends his time attending archdiocese jollies, sitting around gettting even fatter, and thinking up up jokes for his Sunday pantomime mass where the children are called up to sit on the altar steps and used as props for his massive ego. I attended TLM on Sundays, and will now travel there on weekdays.

    The crisis which you so energetically and angrily address – thank you from the bottom of my heart for forcefully saying what the rest of us hardly dare think – has benefitted me enormously, if it were not for this crisis I would be a nominal Catholic.

    I pray the Rosary, which I began in obedient ignorance and now love, and my faith in God, love of Jesus, understanding of my need to repent, forgive and pray are all a result of my panic at seeing what I took for granted being destroyed. To anyone who has not turned to Our Lady, I say ‘do not delay, you will be so rewarded it will take your breath away.’

    Please feel free Mundabor to include this in your comments section, edit or delete. I am very happy to have been able to say what has happened to someone who clearly cares and is interested and active in defending the faith of our fathers.

    • I am very happy to approve and publish.

      I am, myself, a part of the problem, in that I was, for too many years, one of those tepid Catholics who have brought us to this point; albeit even my tepid Catholicism would have been horrified at what I hear today from too many bishops, and from the pope himself.

      make no mistake, we deserve the punishment. The only think we can do now is to do our best so that we may see it end before we die, or we may get brownie points for having done our best until the day we dies.

      You were brilliant in church, by the way.



  4. We should send the bishop elect who is “surprised” at his appointment some white feathers, perhaps taken from the prone bodies of the papal doves who were reportedly killed by crows after the last papal dove release (now replaced by balloon releases), to let him know that there a a few out there who know what a sell-out he is. Sell your soul for an auxiliary bishop’s hat father? What a miserable wretch you have become!

  5. Notice that the aforementioned previous incumbant of Blackfen, where I attended the TLM, and will never go back to Tetley’s again, has quietly started Masses in latin at Margate. God bless him! Father taught and enriched my faith, and I will never forget him in a decade of the Rosary which I dedicate to all preists that I have known. I was at Blackfen for the second Sunday under the new PP, and have never been so insulted by a sermon from the pulpit. I, and many who attended Blackfen, stopped going there after that.

    • Well done, Sir.
      I suspect it is not entirely a coincidence that Margate can’t really be reached by the parishioners of Blackfen with an easy car commute…

