In Praise Of “Pewsitter”


The “Pewsitter” is for me, and for many others, the go-to site for Catholic orthodoxy. Not only it provides me – and many others – with useful sources of information. Far more importantly, it is a very fast and convenient way to understand that we are not alone, to see how many quality bloggers and devout Catholics have the pockets full of the horrid spectacle we are being forced to witness. 

I tend to avoid personal polemics if I can, and I will try to avoid it now. But let me say that “Pewsitter” has been excellent not only at connecting orthodox Catholics, but also at exposing the lukewarm, the opportunists, and the outright fake.

Yes, I am honoured to write that “Pewsitter” has linked to my posts on many occasions. But you see, I do not make any money from my blog, and pageviews are, therefore, ultimately irrelevant to me. To me, but perhaps not so much to others who deride it.

I invite all my readers to give a try to the “Pewsitter”. If they do it already, I invite them to do so more often.

And yes, in the middle of the battle we need to hear the sound of the trumpet, and value those who give us this ewxtremely valuable help. But this does not mean that we do not pray, or fast, or do penance anyway. Actually, I suspect that the average reader of the “Pewsitter” prays, fasts and does penance far more than the average blogger criticising them.

And no, I will not cancel this post because I am ashamed of its content (I have read the cached page). I will keep it online, because I am proud of it.

Long live Pewsitter. The Truth it so well defends will still be there when all sorts of fake, or wrong Catholics with their little snarky posts have become dust. 


Posted on September 22, 2015, in Catholicism, Conservative Catholicism, Traditional Catholicism and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. Completely agree. My go-to source, and more than once a day. Thank you for promoting it!

  2. Agreed…pew sitter is an excellent site.

  3. I found your blog through Pewsitter. I visit Pewsitter daily and consider it the “Drudge Report” of Catholic news. I appreciate that they include bloggers such as yourself. I just wonder how much longer Voris will hold his permanent sticky in the upper rh corner? For a long time Pewsitter was advertised on his Vortex episodes so I’m sure that has something to do w/ it.

    • I think it has to do with the fact that the people at Pewsitter want to give an outlet to Voris even if they often criticise him. Voris & Co. are people on the right side who make it wrong, they aren’t people on the wrong side.

  4. Indeed. Pewsitter is a great place to go for a round up of what’s going on in the Church and the world.

  5. If I may add something to the comments above and to your own, Mundabor, is that while I totally agree that Pewsitter is an excellent source of information in general, there is a caveat, however, and it is that one needs to discern among the many bloggers in Pewsitter. There are weeds among the wheat (c)atholic versus Catholic, so beware!

    God bless.

