The Smart Way To Run A Blog

As a special Thanksgiving gift, Yours Truly has decided to share his not inconsiderable experience in blogging matters. So there we are.

When I started writing this blog I decided that the smart way of doing it was to limit interactive battles to the mere minimum, and devote the time to my little space on the Internet instead; at least as much as my fiery nature can manage.

Since then, I have been insulted many times, by many people, very publicly: from homosexual journalists to frustrated bloggers, and from failed seminarians to outright nutcases. Add to that a lot of atheists and perverts, but those I do not even count as worthy of notice.

Whenever I detected something of the sort, what I did is to look for the commenters who supported the attacker and ban them from my blog (yes: there are people out there who will praise you on your blog and insult you elsewhere; that's how much they love to see their nickname on the Internet). Then I make a knot on my handkerchief, and remember the episode at the appropriate juncture. Then… well, that's it, really. But trust me, I have a long memory, and the knots on my handkerchief are rather strong ones.

This way of running the blog has several advantages: it avoids the never-to-bed-and-you-know-you-have-to-work-tomorrow internet evenings; it avoids giving more ammo to atheists who then mock us for attacking each other; it saves vast amounts of adrenalines; it avoids making of the blog something self-referential, and it allows to dedicate the time to the blog topics instead, ad maiorem Dei gloriam.

Let me stress this particular point again: the savings in adrenalines are vast.

From blogger to blogger, I must say this to you: it's the smart way to go. I know it out of quinquennial blogging experience. Mind, it does not mean that I will leave an attack unpunished. I tend to leave very little unpunished. It means that, as smart people used to say, est modus in rebus.

We Catholic bloggers should learn from the Church. The smart one, I mean. The one before John. Those churchmen did not leave much unpunished, either. But they knew how to do it in the proper way. This was, of course, before the advent of the Age of Stupidity, but you get my drift.

The temptation to get into that Twitter brawl or that Facebook row can be big in the moment. But if you pray and write a blog post instead, whilst on the Internet others are attacking you from several places you will be the winner, big time.

In addition, with advancing age I have become less confident in my ability to teach idiots to think, or to induce reprobates to save their souls. Idiots will not think, because they're idiots. Reprobates will not save their souls, because they're reprobates. All others (those who are neither idiots nor reprobates) do not profit from inter-Catholic Internet quarrels. They profit from a blog passionately written about issues different from the blog author having been offended.

If you are a blogger, my suggestion to you would be to never link to the wrong sites – you bring traffic to them – but to deal with the matter at hand – or with the person at hand – in a general way: this and this is wrong, or: if Grima or Pollyanna tell you this and that you do not believe them, and the like. No traffic to them, and education of the reader. When the reader then meets the condemned attitude, he will know why it is wrong. If the reader never meets it, so much the better. You never bring traffic to the wrong sites in order to show that they are wrong.

I have followed these rules fairly strictly these five years. It has helped me a lot. It has also avoided to make of this blog – written ad maiorem Dei gloriam – a platform for my personal grievances. If anyone insults you on the net, let it stay on the net, for the permanent shaming of those who so insult you; and answer in due course, and without any haste, in the matter itself.

Of course, it is very human to want to react and respond to those who insult us. It is human and it can be even right, as we know how nasty liberals and fake Catholics can be. But it might bring little advantage in the end. The reader will remember the blogger who has not reacted long after he has forgotten the thirty who did, no matter how right they were to react.

I am not suggesting to take the high road. I am suggesting to take the smart one.

You will look, and live, so much better.



Posted on November 26, 2015, in Catholicism, Conservative Catholicism, Traditional Catholicism and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 16 Comments.

  1. Great advice, thanks. Now if I may ask a follow up question: how does one spread the word, so to speak, about one’s own meager blogging efforts? I have posted links on Twitter and FB, but I am not “public” on either platform and don’t really want to be, although if that’s the only way to really get rolling, I’ll do it (after removing much personal information from my profiles). Thanks again. Laudator Jesus Christus!

    • I never “spread the word” about my blog, though my nickname was somewhat known for writing on “Homo Smoke” (the blog of the “telegraph”).
      You must always think that you write for the Blessed Virgin, not for the sake of notoriety. No effort is unnoticed in heaven, and I do not think it matters to the Blessed Virgin whether the readers are one millions or just a few.
      In time, your blog might be picked by others, and then others, and then others. It depends on many factors.
      But think of this: when you defend Catholicism among friends your audience is… three, four?
      Even a blog with fifty readers a day is a lot of defending…

    • If you are a reader or commented on other Catholic blogs, you could ask those bloggers to add you to their bloglist on their homepage, and perhaps to bring the addition to the attention of their readers. God bless you.

  2. Well, strike that…I just found your own post giving the exact sort of advice I was looking for, so I’ll be content with that. And I guess it’s time to change my user name too. 🙂 Anonymity, you know. I am retired and, God willing, will never have to work again, but one never really knows. Now I am going to go back to my blog and start writing TAGS! Thank you much for that tip; I’m rather embarrassed not to have thought of it myself. I used to think I was pretty smart. Heh heh.

  3. As I understand it, Pope Pius XII was the Pope who gave Bugnini his first role of liturgical meddler. Bugnini’s first assignment were the changes made in Holy Week. Pius XII also promoted Montini to Milan, not to reduce his chances at a Papal election, as the myth goes, but to enhance them. If that is the case, I wonder why Pius XII is plastered all over your blog?


    • Because I am not stupid as, I suspect, you are.
      You can’t even write a blog post without showing immense superficiality, but it suffices that a wonderful Pope who has reigned amidst the greatest challenges for 19 years made a couple of appointments whose devastating nature were shown many years after his death for you to decide that the holy man is not worthy of being “plastered all over my blog”.
      You are an embarrassment to your mother.

  4. Mundy, I truly do so desire to have a human friend such as yourself in my life.

    Not since my father passed away have I known many such souls with the combined blessings of fidelity and bravery coupled with intelligence, courage and integrity. And you are just one such soul.

    While you may well be considered a Catholic “cyber-star”, most of us realize you’re really just a servant of God, doing quite a bit of heavy lifting for the Church and being a target of abuse from those who desire to demolish it.

    Pretty much every morning I turn to your blog with my first click of the day to make sure I’m up to speed with the latest in Church developments, from an orthodox perspective. We trust you. And many of us – your faithful readers – are not naïve cult-of-personality worshippers. We only seek Jesus and savor His voice. We are Catholics, each of us doing what we may to counter the evils we face, humbled and strengthened by the Sacraments.

    Although I wouldn’t know you if I ran you over with my car, I do consider you my friend; and as such prayer and affection are offered for the benefit of your soul.

    Many thanks for all that you do for God and Church…and us!

    • Many thanks for your kind words, Sir.
      I suggest to look at me as a wretched sinner whose shortcomings would be very apparent to you if you knew me in real life; but who has been given the grace of a sharp Catholic tongue or, rather, keyboard.

  5. If I had a blog I’d post this on it.

  6. Dear M,

    Thank you for your reply to my comments. You’re right, I am stupid and an embarrassment to my Mother. I omitted the most glaring defect on Pope Pius XII’s legacy, he did not read the Third Secret of Fatima. Millions of souls hung in the balance and the excuse we got was that he didn’t want to be influenced. Isn’t that why Our Blessed Mother came to earth, to influence the Popes starting in 1929? That has to be the lamest excuse given in the history of the Papacy. I can’t believe we bought it. Thank you again for the opportunity.


  7. There is a saying, when playing either softball or baseball.: “Keep your eye on the ball”. Your guidance on blogs says exactly that -i.e. one has to remember the raison d’etre for their blog, and not get side-tracked or distracted.

    You keep your eye on the ball really well. And as such, in my view, you hit quite a few home-runs.

  8. I agree with Francisco above that your writing is a blessing to us. The Church is going through an abnormal period now with many of the hierarchy trying to drastically change it. Resisting a pope is a new and unnerving experience for most Catholics and many will get mentally worn down. Having voices that speak out about Catholic truths counter the heresies, help people know they are not alone in their beliefs, and give them the courage to resist what is being forced on them. I discovered traditional blogs last year, and they have reminded me and reinforced what I learned in Catholic school. Only the Novus Ordo mass is offered where I live, and although I believe the Sacrament of the Eucharist is valid, there’s no real teaching from the pulpit. So, Mr. M, your efforts are very much appreciated! As far as the blog wars go, if you are being attacked, it’s only because you’re successful 😉!!

