On The Tenth Anniversary Of Rorate Caeli



Rorate Caeli started publication on the Rorate Sunday of ten years ago.  

As I started to follow Catholic blogs – towards the end of 2008 – Rorate was among my first choices, and it always remained. Together with the other pages I discovered around that time (Father Z, The Hermeneutic of Continuity and Messa in Latino), they slowly but certainly formed my Catholic conscience and helped me to discover (with great relief, and with a kind of rediscovered enthusiasm) that the Church was so much more than the effeminate V II fluff I so despised (and, in case you doubt, still despise).

Rorate had comments at the time, and the comments were another endless source of instruction and information. The two together made of the site the authority giant of English-speaking Catholic blogdom. 

The comments were closed at some point – I did not complain; I know how difficult it is, even for a small-ish blog like mine, to keep things in check and even find the time to care for a proper comment section- but the site continued to go from strength to strength. More contributors joined the initial team, and Rorate slowly but certainly became one of those outlets chosen by orthodox influential clergy to have their opinion known, anonymously or otherwise. There can be, in fact, no better endorsement than this one, and no better compliment.

Rorate is now ten years old, and New Catholic’s effort continues to be the dominant force of the (sound) Catholic scene. I cannot avoid a feeling of sadness thinking of how much has changed in these ten years (not all for the worse, though; ten years ago, in the Indult regime, we were still waiting for Summorum Pontificum), and how worse the situation might be in ten years’ time. But it is a great consolation to know that the Lord, in His Goodness, allows us the grace to get in contact with efforts like Rorate, through which many other warriors for Christ can be helped to properly form and train themselves.

Happy birthday, Rorate Caeli, and many happy returns. 

God knows we need people like New Catholic, and all the others who made and make this beautiful site thrive. 







Posted on December 20, 2015, in Catholicism, Conservative Catholicism, Traditional Catholicism. Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. Thank you for expressing my sentiments on the good that Rorate Caeli has done for me, though I am a much more recent reader of their blog.

  2. Mundy, my sincere apologies for polluting this tribute page to the much beloved RC with this…

    …but, apparently this link is NOT referencing a mockumentary. Apparently it’s meant to be true.

    If this is all valid – and the Bear does NOT seem to be a man missing many brain cells – then Bergie is way past “one toke over the line sweet Jesus”.


  3. In January 2009, all hell broke loose in Germany, because Benedict had lifted the excommunications of the SSPX bishops, among them Richard Williamson who was called a “holocaust denier” by our media. Back then, I was a religious seeker, relatively convinced of Christianity (mostly by C.S. Lewis and internet evangelicals, with some Catholics mixed in), but still undecided between Catholicism and Protestantism. I liked Pope Benedict very much, but knew very little about Catholic Tradition and even less about the SSPX. All I heard was how the evil Pope had basically murdered the Jews all over again by lifting the excommunication of Williamson. The accusations seemed very unfair and so I did a little research.

    That was how I discovered Rorate Caeli. At first I read them specifically for this topic and found them generally too radical. I left after the “scandal” had blown over. For me as a recovering atheist turned religious seeker with Christian leanings they were still a little too much, too strident. Though I could not help but admire them for both their pious certainty and their accurate reporting. During that time I also found less traditionalist Catholic blogs more in line with Pope Benedict’s moderate conservatism (first by laymen*, later by priests) which I started to read daily. A few months later, in autumn 2009, I was pretty convinced that Catholicism was true and not in need of reinvention. But the liberal Catholics wanted to reinvent the Church in their own image, and the conservatives still had to defend, as a matter of loyalty to Vatican II, a lot of obviously misguided and failed “reforms”.

    That was when I returned to Rorate, which I have been reading daily ever since. I waited too long to use the comment section, however: One evening I wrote my first comment over there, and the very next morning I found out they had shut the whole thing down. My comment couldn’t have been *that* bad, could it?🙂

    *off topic: Among them was a certain Mark Shea who basically converted me to Catholicism by writing a little book titled “By what Authority? An Evangelical discovers Catholic Tradition”, which destroyed my last intellectual defense against Catholic Truth: the assertion that Protestantism was “pure, original” Christianity, freed from “extra-biblical” weight. Ehre wem Ehre gebührt, as we say in Germany. For all his faults, the man has his uses…

    • I would rather say that truth tends to shine even when told by people who often obfuscate it…

    • P.s. I cannot exclude that your message was so long that it was the last straw for the moderators; who, on seeing it, said “that’s it! Let’s end this comment thing altogether!”😉

  4. Congratulations and thanks to Rorate Coeli. It is a great source of information from the Catholic perspective.

  5. I have never seen anything heterodox or schismatic on Rorate…why do many apparently orthodox Catholics say it is apostate, schismatic, etc????

