Schubert Sunday

As I grow in age, some questions pose themselves to my mind with increasing frequency.

On listening to a composer, or on reading an author of the past, the questions now almost automatically arises: “did he avoid hell?”.

The question is, at times, painful; because, for example, some of the writers I love most were actually Jews (Franz Kafka, Giorgio Bassani) or bad Christians, if any (Herrman Hesse) and, to my knowledge, died in their error. May the Lord in His Mercy have found ways to lead them to Truth unknown to the world, or – which seems less probable – decreed their ignorance invincible.

In other cases, however, the pleasure of listening is enhanced by the pleasure of knowing that the person in question died with the Sacraments, and it is more than reasonable to assume that they did, in fact, achieve that supreme goal without achieving which nothing we have ever ever done, or loved, or fought for will be of any significance to us.

Today I would like to present to you some snippets of the work of one of those I have loved since childhood; one who, in my eyes, represents the very best of what our wonderful Christian Civilisation has achieved. And one who died, still so young, at peace with the Lord, as clearly stated by contemporary sources.

Enjoy these little examples of his astonishing talent; and, if his work gives you pleasure, say a prayer or three for the repose of his eternal soul.












Posted on June 5, 2016, in Catholicism, Conservative Catholicism, Traditional Catholicism. Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. My favorite composer is Mozart, and I have the same questions, and pray.

  2. Thank you, Mr. Mundabor. Exquisite music !!

  3. Sigh.
    And this one, too.

  4. Thanks. I will take my time and enjoy them all. My son is a big classical music fan and amateur composer himself. I will pass them on to him.

    An interesting and worthy thought to have while listening is the possible disposition of the musical author’s soul.

    I read somewhere that J.S. Bach is to theology through music what Aquinas was to theology through print. To those who have an ear, lets them hear.

    • However, J.S. Bach was a Proddie with great aversion for the Church. It is doubtful he ever met one single Catholic in his life. He was extremely pious. I do hope he made it.

      In an interesting turn that would have terrified him, his most famous composer son, Johann Christian Bach, converted to Catholicism…😉

  5. I still remember having a teacher when I was a boy, at school, whom I always thought was the spitting image of Franz Schubert. I loved Schubert’s music even then and I even begged my parents to buy a piano so that I could learn to play one. Mother did in fact buy one and I began having lessons. Then Dad saw that I was serious and he finally did move and bought the best one he could afford! Then Dad too went for lessons and music came into the family!

