Jesus Did Not Do “Accompanying” Without Repentance.

Sooo uncharitable....

“If anyone comes to me without hating his father and mother, wife and children, brothers and sisters, and even his own life, he cannot be my disciple”.

All those of you who have to attend a NO mass will recognise a fragment of the reading for today.

As I read the, as usual, brutally frank words of Our Lord I cannot avoid thinking that the uncompromising stance required of every Catholic is exactly the opposite of the prevailing mantras of our time, the “accompanying” and “meeting sinners where they are” and all that crap.

The contrary is what we hear from Our Lord. We put Christ first, and that's that. If necessary, we set everything else at naught. If we are required to set at naught mother and father, wife and children etc., what importance should be give to “niceness” and “being charitable”, which nowadays means quite the contrary of charity? You already know the answer.

The Church of Nice is in blatant contradiction with the readings we hear in church every Sunday. I wonder how long it will be before some Francis II The Mad Brazilian or Francis III The Great Commie decide that the Gospel is too offensive for us, and substitute it for selected speeches of Pope Francis instead.


Posted on September 3, 2016, in Catholicism, Conservative Catholicism, Traditional Catholicism. Bookmark the permalink. 9 Comments.

  1. You forgot to include “encounter” on your list. Can you imagine – Bergoglian Jesus encounters money changers in the temple. He greets them warmly, offers a balloon, and a voucher for a trip to a beach and a a slice of Italian pizza. A legalistic fundamentalist suddenly appears, and disturbs the peaceful and joyous occasion for unity-building with a rude observation regarding money changing in the House of the Lord. The Lord sets him straight immediately with a stern and uncompromising: “Who are you to judge?” There will be no tolerance for intolerance.

  2. Is that a correct quote/translation? Shouldn’t it be ‘with hating..’ Isn’t Christ saying you can’t be my apostle if you hate family members/your own life? He wants people without hate/hating- right?
    Please help/

    • It is a correct translation. It is, like many expressions of Our Lord, an hyperbole. It means that you must be ready to go against your relatives etc.

      You certainly should not feel obliged to hate your parents in order to be a good Christian.

      You are not supposed to cut your arm off, either.

  3. As Cardinal Sarah said: “God or Nothing” reflecting Christ’s very few words. Pope Francis will, of course, use many more words to explain away Christ’s meaning.

  4. Well, already the Church is persecuting those who are faithful to the Gospel.

    Today, Fr. Hunwicke has posted that cruel pressure has been brought to bear against someof the 45 signatories, who expressed their concerns regarding the Amoris Laetitia in a private letter to the Cardinals.

    Fr. Hunwicke writes:
    ” Intimidation and cruel pressures have, it appears, been applied to persuade some of the signatories to the Letter to rescind their signatures.”

    He also says: I would like to make it very clear that I am not talking about myself or in any way describing or alluding to my own situation or any experience I have had.

    Read the whole post here at:

    Is there any way, other than prayer, than we can help the signatories? Mundabor have you any thoughts about this? I believe Fr. Blake was one of the signatories, and his blog has been silent for a while. I wonder if there is any connection.

  5. In the summer the choir takes a break and various people “cantor.” It’s almost always bubblegum “praise” music. The cantors aren’t regular choir members and I often wonder if it’s because choir singers can’t showboat nor stand on the altar and be applauded like a “star”. But I’m a mean, grouchy, joyless person.

    Traditional music would be nice for something as serious as a Mass. But even humble Afro Spirituals or hillbilly mountain gospel would be better. Folk Christians understood suffering and the triumph of justice and that heaven is not on Earth. The music cuts you to the bone, even the happy hymns.

    Tonight I let go, closed my eyes and tried to experience the bubblegum from the point of view of the adoring “audience” who seemed so moved. I decided it would be the kind of music I would like if I were slap-happy drunk. If my life had always been good and I had no reason to believe it wouldn’t always be good, and If I had the comfort of knowing I’d always been deeply and perfectly loved. Were I a resident of Heaven on Earth with Jesus as the cherry on top, I’d like that music.

    And then I got really depressed because apparently I’m a mean, grouchy, joyless person who’s had suffering and prays for the triumph of Good and is sure that Heaven is not on Earth. And the only people who understand are Jesus Christ and Mundabor.

    • You might find other to or three…;)

      Most of what I hear in church I would not like if I were in Kindergarten. I honestly think those who like it just do not know what beauty is, and think that rubbish beautiful in the same way as the pig finds the manure perfectly OK.

