Blog Hygiene

a-person-washing-their-hands-show-personal-hand-hygiene

Every now and then (actually, more often than that) I find comments on my comment box consisting of either only one link to another blog (very possibly their own), or a link accompanied by some scarce words of circumstance. 

I am always very suspicious of such links. Firstly, I don’t like the attitude of someone smashing his own – unknown to me – blog on mine just like that. Secondly, I don’t know what the content of the blog is.

These people are subtle. They can send you a link to a non explicitly Sedevacantist blog post of what is actually a Sedevacantist site; or a seemingly innocent comment on a Gospel passage in what actually is a Medjugorje site; or some other artful Trojan horse meant to lure people into a page they know I would not allow on my blog if they stated openly what the aim of that site is.

My suggestion to every blogger out there is to pay much attention to the material they allow to get published, lest they involuntarily help the wrong people to spread the wrong message.

As to my commenters, once again I renew the prayer to not “dump” a link without commentary (my first instinct is to cancel them immediately, unless it is very apparent it comes from a very orthodox site), but rather spend some words explaining what the link is about, and that the site is all right. 

Whilst there will always be legitimate differences of opinion among reasonable people, I think that I have to do my best to avoid that this blog becomes a sound box for those who want to spread the wrong ideas, however artfully masked as “Catholicism”.

M    

Posted on March 4, 2017, in Catholicism, Conservative Catholicism, Traditional Catholicism. Bookmark the permalink. Comments Off on Blog Hygiene.

Comments are closed.

