Systemic Racism?

Well, what shall I say…

I had looked at the movie of which the below is a snippet many years ago. I watched this short snippet again, and I can’t get over how racist it is.

I am so glad Walt Disney has moved away from this nonsense.

I mean, I do not know where to begin…

The dog (I think his name is Pongo; first mistake as he should have been called something not-oppressive, like d’Jon or T’Jigga) is the epitome of racism. He rejects every partner that is not of the same white race as he is. A brown and a yellow dog are explicitly refused.

The video contains explicit “ageism” (“too old”), and drips Fatphobia (though it is not said explicitly).

Apart from the absence of any black dog (a Newfoundland, owned by Lizzo, would have done admirably), we can see that the beauty ideals of the Patriarchy are upheld and propagated: the chosen girl (and her dog) are white, pretty, slender, demure, feminine, and outright innocent. It really looks like a MAGA movie. I wonder why this hasn’t been banned as White Supremacist hate yet.

And the music, the music! The (obviously) White, Male, Straight guy is at work on the age-old oppression of sweet, romantic tunes meant to perpetuate the romantic ideal of, well, the Patriarchy.

This is not how this should have been done.

This should have had rap music, several huge dogs, all of them rigorously black or brown, led by Body Positive Minority Grrrls. The Straight White Man should have been – if you really want to have such a thing in a movie – ashamed of his condition, looking for ways to amend his systemic racism, and utterly ready to fall in love with the above mentioned Lizzo and her huge Newfoundland.

This, my dear readers, happens when Straight White Males are made to lead such productions, and shape them according to their own systemic racism.

Or perhaps this is just a top Walt Disney production, made by sane men in an age of sanity, and telling us how mad our age has become.

Posted on April 14, 2024, in Traditional Catholicism. Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. The Walt Disney we grew up with! Every Sunday night, right before or after Ed Sullivan’s dancing bears or Rolling Stones or plate spinners or Russian Bolshoi ballet, the precious stuff of memories, those days. Walt Disney made so many lovely programs, and the best of them 101 Dalmations, Lady and the Tramp, Sword in the Stone, Jungle Book, etc. It almost hurts to watch them, but every child should be introduced to them, as well as films like James the Giant Peach. Superb films, every one. To show how we can be influenced by animation, we still say “Oh I do say!”, just as Pongo did here. That scene where he rejects most passersby is hilarious, too this, too that. We agree, when we see them, and he falls in love with the lovely Perdita, they go on to have 101 adorable pups. Disney, you went woke and disappointed us all. Now we hate them, wouldn’t spend one dime is Disneyworld or Land or anything else Disney.

    • They go on having 15 (then 14, then 15). Then the 15 are kidnapped and find themselves together with other 84, bought in pet shops. That’s a total of 99, plus the two parents 😉
      There, I corrected it for you! ;0

  2. Oh, haha, that’s correct of course. I guess I need to watch it to recall how it all worked. I did wonder, as I wrote the number 101, how they ended up having so many puppies! I wondered, she couldn’t have had a litter of 101… Then I failed in due diligence, lol.