Dealing With Libtard News

I am somewhat perplexed at the behaviour of otherwise excellent news outlets like, say, Breitbart. In their desire to expose the fanaticism of the Liberals, they end up publishing endless articles containing their antics. Basically, they give them a huge resonance box.

Does it help?

My first instinct is to say “it doesn't”: the space and energy should be better used to publish articles of those who say the right things, rather than endlessly giving a stage to the bad guys. I must say I am at times so put off by that that I instantly leave the page, and go reading somewhere else.

However, and for the sake of honesty, I must admit that Trump won the election, and this tactic of constantly rubbing liberal thinking under the nose of sanely thinking voters might, actually, have had the desired effect in the end, mobilising many who would perhaps have stayed home without the constant aggravation.

Still, aggravation it is. It also engenders the impression that the world out there be full of liberals, almost monopolising both the public discourse and the individual thinking. I would say that the exact contrary is the truth, with the liberal nutcases a very tiny minority of the population, but gaining traction because their ideas are endlessly spread from both friend and foe.

I personally do not react well to this kind of journalism. When some Liberal states something retarded I want to read the reasoned criticism and condemnation of it, not only the liberal madness in itself. This way I am both informed and nurtured. But I have no desire to be subject to an endless litany of liberal nonsense and a long list of dumb tweets every day, merely to be told for the millionth time that these people are dumb.

What do you think?

What effect does the tactic of Drudge or Breitbart have on you?

M

 

Posted on August 17, 2017, in Catholicism, Conservative Catholicism, Traditional Catholicism and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. It seems to me that Breitbart’s main purpose is to provide their readership with an outlet where they can react to the MSM news of the day. I seldom read it because even though I am conservative, the name-calling and bickering by the thousands of commenters gets tiresome. Haven’t read Drudge yet. However, I think Rush Limbaugh has the best overall commentary concerning all things political in the US (scanning the transcripts is faster than listening). I disengaged long ago from newspapers, network and cable news because of the liberal slant. There’s only so much one can take of their relentless onslaught of negativity toward our president. Yet they sure do love the Francis, don’t they?

  2. I was having similar thoughts recently. Yes, it is important to know what is going on, but too much time on these sites can cause irrational anger at libtard stupidity and impact one’s productivity. A fast from all kinds of media is also necessary for the soul if we want to get closer to God.

  3. Perhaps an even worse example is the Gateway Pundit website. They run reams and reams of examples of Leftist idiocy sometimes reaching a fever of hysteria. The majority of the lunacy is there as click bait with no impact on public debate. The conservative commenters outdo each other in over reacting. That particular website is run by a “gay conservative” who brags about hiring another “gay conservative” and succeeded in getting him into White House press briefings. These are not well adjusted folks on either side.

  4. ilovevictoriasbows

    I read the headline and move on. All I need is the gist of the Evil Clown’s airplane press conference or latest homily. One sentence out of 30 minutes. As we say, “the takeaway, the nut, the rub.”