May Is The Best Month To Start The Rosary

Hail Mary, conceived without sin, pray for us now, and in the hour of our death.

Mary, conceived without sin, pray for us who have recourse to Thee.

May is the Month of the Blessed Virgin Mary. 

What better occasion than to make a resolution to start to pray the Rosary every day, than the month of May!

Among the heavenly investments   I have mentioned in a past blog post, the Rosary is – after Mass attendance, of course – very probably the best. Padre Pio and countless other saints insisted on the Rosary. Praying the Rosary devoutly every day is a beautiful sign of predestination. I cannot imagine a better way to enrich your prayer life – nay, your life – than to pray the Rosary.

When I die, I want my last rosary to be not older than the day before. And I can die every day. Therefore…

If you should read this blog for years and take from it the habit of praying the Rosary, the benefit taken from this blog would be spectacular even if I have written rubbish for now almost three years and in more than 2,000 posts (which I do not think, at all; but I’m not you, either…). 

May is the month to start praying the Rosary every day.

If you use the search function you will find several posts your truly has written on the Rosary. It is not a coincidence that my “Catholic Vademecum” page has at the top not one, but seven posts all dealing with the Rosary.

The best spot on this blog (right upper hand side) is devoted to a link to the Rosary. I almost never click to it now as I pray the Rosary with other apps, but it is the best spot on this blog because the most important message of this blog is – apart from the commentaries on the facts of the day – to pray the Rosary.

Make of the rosary your priority. If you do not have time, take time away from this blog and pray the Rosary every day. I do write a lot, but praying the Rosary devoutly every day is infinitely more important and will do more for your salvation than countless hours spent reading my posts.

When you click here, think every time if your time would not be better employed praying the Rosary, unless you have already done so.

Don’t listen to me. Listen first to the Blessed Virgin, St. Dominic, Blessed Alan de la Roche, Padre Pio and countless others.

Again: after the Mass, I can’t see what better favour you can do to yourselves, and to those you love, than praying and encouraging them to pray the Rosary.

Let me say it in three short phrases.

Pray the Rosary.

Pray the Rosary.

Pray the Rosary.

Mundabor

Posted on April 30, 2013, in Catholicism, Traditional Catholicism and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 11 Comments.

  1. awkwardcustomer

    Excellent. A query though. For me, praying the Rosary means kneeling and praying the 5 decades without interruption. This takes me half and hour. However, I know people who pray the Rosary while driving, sitting on a train, walking home etc, and who break up the decades, praying them at different times of the day.

    And then there are those who pray 15 decades a day.

    What are your thoughts on this?

    • It is allowed to break the decades, I actually do it regularly during the week (less so at weekend).
      My rosary (complete, start to finish) takes me 18 to 20 minutes. It used to take much longer at the beginning.
      As to what people do, it depends on whether they can keep concentration and recite a devout rosary, and this will depend on the individual. I can picture Brother Lawrence reciting an excellent rosary whilst cleaning kitchen utensils, but I am not able to do so. I have done it whilst driving, though, always with very good results: I am a natural at driving and as I can remain concentrated on driving whilst talking to the person sitting near me, I can imagine that the Blessed Virgin is, in fact, sitting near me… But again, it will depend on the circumstances.

      In general, I’d say do not renounce to the rosary because you feel you are not good enough: the devil waits just for that…

      M

  2. radjalemagnifique

    Good idea to start May with a daily Rosary. But how many Catholics know how to pray the Rosary anymore ? Personally, I have learned it only a very little time ago, because it was no more “fashionable” all over these last decades. (Except I think in Lourdes.)

    A suggestion : Could this not be an opportunity to reintroduce the Latin with such common prayers for the personal use? It could give people an idea of what the Traditional Mass was and may be lead them to ask for the return of such Masses.

    Latin has been the international language of the Catholics for centuries, so for travelling people it’s also useful to have the same liturgic language all over the world.

    I don’t want to take the whole space here to copy all the texts of the “Ave Maria”, the “Pater noster” and so on, but may be you, Mundabor, would do it yourself if you find my idea interesting.

    Radja le Magnifique

    • same here, Radja. I grew up basically not knowing what a rosary is. no priest ever mentioned it, but you read about it in old novels, say….

      If you visit my “Vademecum”, the Rosary in Latin is also dealt with. The best apps also have the prayers in Latin. The Rosary is a beautiful introduction to Latin.

      M

  3. Thank you for this post! It was St. Louis de Montfort’s book, _The Secret of the Rosary_, that led me into the Church. After reading it and praying my first 15-decade rosary, I received–from our Blessed Mother–the grace to know where I belonged. The daily rosary brought my whole family back into the Church, and has been my lifeline ever since.

  4. radjalemagnifique

    INTERNET MYSTERIES

    Dear Muntabor,

    I have sent this afternoon a text concerning this item. (Unfortunately I had made no copy of it.). This text would not make a revolution world-wide, but as it takes me so much time to write (approximately understandable English, vocabulary, grammary, etc.), I wonder if you have received it or if it has dist((((((((((((((((((tyyyyyyyyyyyyyy§ (thats the paws of Radja whilst I was checking something in the dictionary) DISAPPEARED by magic !

    If you have a very little moment to spare to this post, I would be very happy to know about my earlier one.

    Thank you very much in advance.

    The Mistress of Radja le Magnifique

    • I think I just replied to it.
      The posts may well stay on the queue for a day or two (or more) if I cannot access the messages.

      M

  5. Thanks for the reminder Mundabor. I have been very inconsistent in praying my rosary. For May, I am now 2 for 2.

    May Our Lady help me to be consistent & faithful in this.

    • Ah, for that I know a powerful weapon… 😉

      As I never tire to say, try to say the Rosary every day even if it isn’t the best rosary you ever said. Habits are not easy to establish, but when they are they are rather powerful. Once the habit is acquired, everything comes easier…

      M

  1. Pingback: May is the best month for the Rosary | A Blog for Dallas Area Catholics