Praying For The Pope

I have very recently published a post in which I have stated that is very much like Pollyanna to think that if we pray really hard the Pope will, well, discover Catholicism. In opposition to this, I stressed the importance of doing more than praying for miracles, that is: to act without waiting for the miracle to happen first.

It goes without saying that this does not mean that we should not pray for the Pope. We pray for the Pope because it is our duty as Catholics to do so, because we are aware of the importance of the Papacy and because we wish salvation to everyone, even Francis. At the same time, we do not allow the prayer to be an excuse for not acting, at least as much as our little sphere of influence allows.

I say this as it appears to me my words have been misunderstood or misconstrued, and I would not want anyone to be misled. I have reread the post, and it seems to me the meaning is rather clear; therefore, the text will not be amended.

M

 

Posted on January 4, 2016, in Catholicism, Conservative Catholicism, Traditional Catholicism and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. It appeared clear to me as well. You would not be much of a Catholic if you did not believe in the efficacy of prayers, both before and after death. But you would likewise not be much of a Catholic if you totally missed the errors apparent in nearly every utterance from the pope. I suppose it would be nice to have so many praying for you, but not because you’ve nearly totally missed the boat.

  2. Of course it was clear in the original, except for those too blind to see everything else going on these days. Also, it’s not only commendable to pray for the pope, but for this pope especially. Going a step further, it’s also okay to pray for his intentions (like we must do for certain indulgences). Why is it okay, when his “intentions” may be diabolical? Because God does not grant that which is against His will. So there there is no danger.

    • Yep. I have written about this in the past. The Pope’s intentions aren’t his personal evil plans, but what he want or must want in accordance with what the Church wants.
      M

    • I always include in my prayer for the pope that I’m praying that his intentions will conform to the will of God.