Friends In High Places

I was reading one of the several great books I have from the great Dominic Garrigou-Lagrange, and one part struck me with renewed impact: whenever we ask a Saint for his intercession he will, provided our petition is a legitimate one, intercede for us with Christ. Every. Single. Time.

Now: I knew this; as, I am sure, many of you know. But the consciousness of certain facts of our wonderful Catholic religion slide in the background with the time, and they need – at least as far as I am concerned – to be periodically refreshed and given new life.

Think of it. Think of how big a deal this is. Do not fall for the Protestant “Christ is my buddy” ruse. Catholicism is a huge cooperative endeavour, and it is meant to work that way.

Make it a habit to confide your sorrows and direct your honest, legitimate requests to your favourite Saint, and of course to Maria Mediatrix, every day. Bask in the beauty of this daily consolation. Let your hopes, your aspirations and, if need be, your tears reach those in Heaven who love you and whom you trust. They will hear you every single time, and they will not fail to help you every single time.

Remember: you have friends in high places.

M

Posted on November 19, 2018, in Traditional Catholicism. Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. Only God could have created something this marvelous.

  2. Thank you Mundabor.

  3. Margaret Costello

    Thank you for that wonderful reminder, Mundy:+) Another reason the Catholic faith is so real and lovely:+) God bless~

  4. I have several books of him… (not all!)

    but, I dont remeber ever read this
    could you give the cite? wich book? wich chapter?